Bodyline retain crown

Mumbai: Defending champions Bodyline SC continued their reign as champions and extend their hold on the Late Dereyk DeSouza Memorial Trophy. Bodyline scored once in each half to overcome the strong challenge from Bandra Packers in the grand finale of the Women Open event of the Catholic Gymkhana Rink Football Tournament 2019.

The tournament was conducted under the auspices of the MDFA. Both Bodyline and Bandra Packers displayed positive intent from the outset and they were engaged in a grim battle for supremacy.

There was a flurry of attacks on goal at the either end before Bodyline managed to get the breakthrough when consistent goal-scorer Ash D’Silva slotted home following Valencia D’Mello’s measured square pass. Ash was later adjudged as the ‘Best player of the tournament.

Packers tool that setback in their stride and they regrouped and quickly got their act together and started to put pressure on the Bodyline citadel. They managed to find the equalizer when the dashing striker Namrata Thakur scored from close early in the second period.

Just as the match seemed to heading for a 1-1 stalemate, Bodyline skipper Kimberly Fernandes from a snap effort scored the decisive winning goal just before the final whistle to seal their triumph.

Women Open: Bodyline SC: 2 (Ash D’Silva, K Fernandes) bt Bandra Packers: 1 (N Thakkur). Player of the tournament: Ash D’Silva (Bodyline FC).