BJP picks Bhupendra Patel as Gujarat's new Chief Minister

08:04 PM Sep 12, 2021 | FPJ Web Desk

Bhartiya Janata Party on Sunday picked Bhupendra Patel as the next Gujarat's Chief Minister.

BJP core committee meeting concluded at Kamalam concluded with naming Patel as the new CM.


The senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has submitted his resignation letter to Governor Acharya Devvrat at the Raj Bhawan.


Bhupendra Patel is a BJP MLA from Ghatlodiya assembly seat and also an ex-chairman of the standing committee of the Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation.

Deputy CM Nitinbhai Patel, former Gujarat minister Gordhan Zadafia, and Praful K Patel, Administrator of Dadra and Nagar Haveli, and Lakshadweep were among the names who were touted to succeed Vijay Rupani.

Bhupendrabhai Patel (55) is a member of the Bharatiya Janta Party and he became the MLA for the Ghatlodiya constituency after winning the 2017 Gujarat Legislative Assembly elections, running against Shashikant Patel of the Indian National Congress.

He won by a record margin of 117,000 voters, the largest for any constituency in Gujarat for the BJP in this election.

Notably, Patel who is a one time member of the legislative assembly from Ghatlodiya seat was earlier held by former chief minister Anandiben Patel.

Also Read: Gujarat 'slipping away' from BJP: Congress leader Nitin Raut on CM Vijay Rupani's resignation

(To view our epaper please Read Now. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)