ICC World Test Championship Final 2021: A look at India's record in England in Tests

11:49 PM Jun 15, 2021 | FPJ Web Desk

Ahead of the ICC World Test Championship final which is scheduled to be played from June 18 to 22 in Southampton all eyes are stuck on the Indian team as it's all set to feel the heat against New Zealand. India finished at the top of the World Test championship table and is a massive achievement to get into the finals. The Indian squad for the final was announced a month back and most of the players from the test series against England were retained. No wonder, the squad has put in lots of effort to get to the stage they are in and undoubtedly they deserve to be in the final.

ndia have played a total of 18 Test series in England since 1932 but their record has been far from impressive in the country. So far, India have been able to win just three Test series in England with Ajit Wadekar (1971), Kapil Dev (1986) and Rahul Dravid (2007) being the captains fortunate enough to lift the series trophies.


Captain of the ship, Virat Kohli will be leading his Indian team in England from June 18 and will be looking to add his name to the elite list when India will lock horns in a five-match Test series against New Zealand.


However, talking about India and England's history, The two countries have been playing Test match against each other for more than 86 years now but the overall India have managed just 6 victories in England.

Here's a look at record of winners of the tests when India had played in England:

1932 - England

1936 - England

1946 - England

1952 - England

1959 - England

1967 - England

1971- India

1974- England

1979 - England

1982- England

1986 - India

1990 - England

1996 - England

2002 - Draw

2007 - India

2011 - England

2014 - England

2018 - England

Also Read: 'He will be back' for WTC final: Kane Williamson ruled out for second England Test due to elbow injury

While India has not impressively bagged trophy for many times so far, lets take a look at the joyous moments that made country proud while facing England in the foreign soil

1971 - India's first clinch

It took 39 years for India to win its first Test match in England. The trio of Bishen Bedi, BS Chandrasekar and S Venkataragahavan took 38 wickets during the three-match series.

Captain Wadekar led the way with the bat scoring 45 runs while Dilip Sardesai (40), Gundappa Viswanath (33) and Farokh Engineer (28) made useful contributions as India chased down the target in 101 overs with 4 wickets in hand. The whole nation celebrated the win back home as Wadekar lifted the trophy.

1986 - India's second clinch series

Quite a dramatic and nail biting win, Kapil Dev led a strong Indian team in England and beat them convincingly as the visitors clinched the series 2-0. The first win came at the iconic Lord's Cricket Ground when England got bundled out for 294 and 180 in both innings with Chetan Sharma picking up a five-wicket haul in the first innings and Kapil Dev leading by example in the second with 4 wickets. Dilip Vengsarkar's unbeaten 126 in the first innings was also one of the highlights of the match as India won by 5 wickets to claimed its maiden victory at the Mecca of cricket and take a 1-0 series lead.

2002 - India win at Leeds by an innings and 46 runs

After the 90s, India's first Test victory in England in the new era took place in 2002 when Sourav Ganguly's team thrashed the hosts by an innings and 46 runs in the third Test at Leeds to level the four-match series 1-1. India crossed the 600-run barrier for the first time against England as Sachin Tendulkar (193), Rahul Dravid (148) and Sourav Ganguly (128) ripped apart the English bowling attack to declare the first innings on 628 for 8. The bowlers then led India to victory with Anil Kumble leading the way with 7 wickets in the match while Harbhajan Singh (4), Zaheer Khan (3) and Ajit Agarkar (2) played the supporting roles.

Also Read: Kiwi pace attack, conditions will challenge India in WTC final: Former pacer Ajit Agarkar

2007 - India clinch series 1-0

Under Rahul Dravid, five years after the Leeds victory India repeated history by claiming the series 1-0 by winning the second Test at Nottingham. India took a massive 283-run first innings lead after bowling out the hosts for 198 with Zaheer Khan (4) and Anil Kumble (3) leading the wickets tally.

The third Test at The Oval ended in a draw as Sourav Ganguly lifted the Pataudi Trophy, named in honour of former India captain Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi. Captain Michael Vaughan's hundred in the second innings couldn't save England's batting collapse as they got bowled out for 355 thanks to some brilliant bowling by a fired-up Zaheer Khan.

2014 - India win at Lord's by 95 runs

MS Dhoni led the Indian team in a five-match Test series and delivered the first blow on the hosts by winning at Lord's for the first time after 1986. Ajinkya Rahane scored one of the greatest hundreds in Indian Test history as he negotiated prodigious swing and seam movement against the likes of James Anderson and Stuart Broad.

Murali Vijay (95), Ravindra Jadeja (68) and Bhuvneshwar (52) then rose to the occasion with the bat in the second innings to help India set a target of 319 for the hosts.

Also Read: ICC World Test Championship Final 2021: Virat Kohli may pick THIS player ahead of R Ashwin

(To view our epaper please Read Now. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)